Tales From Margaritavision


June 13th, 2000


Mailboat / MCA


This compilation of music videos produced for Jimmy Buffett since the early ’70s will tickle his formidable Parrothead nation while providing pop historians with a time capsule tracing the evolution of pop video clips since their pre-MTV days. Buffett himself introduces each clip, providing personal and career anecdotes as he unspools the videos in chronological order. In the process, we watch his maturation from freewheeling Florida hippie to laid-back Everyman. As presented here, you can hear how Buffett nudged his music from an identifiable branch of ’70s singer-songwriter chic toward his singular amalgam of pop, country, and rock, with liberal garnishes of calypso and reggae. For a self-professed reluctant video subject, Buffett has managed to capture a substantial cross-section of his music visually, starting with early songs like “Pencil Thin Mustache” and “Come Monday.” The early clips afford glimpses of his Key West stomping grounds before that sun-baked Bohemia was transformed into a tourist trap decorated with Hemingway, tropical drinks, and, of course, Buffett himself.

Track List

  1. Pencil Thin Mustache
  2. Come Monday
  3. He Went to Paris
  4. Nautical Wheelers (Live)
  5. Livin’ It Up
  6. One Particular Harbour
  7. La Vie Dansante
  8. Who’s the Blonde Stranger?
  9. Homemade Music
  10. Take Another Road
  11. Jamaica Farewell (live)
  12. Another Saturday Night
  13. Fruitcakes
  14. Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes (live)
  15. The City (live)
  16. Lovely Cruise

This text will be replaced

Music video for “La Vie Dansante,” one of the many included on Tales From Margaritavision