Additional Album Artwork:
Back Cover


Release Date:

December 3, 1974


ABC Dunhill Records

Track List
1. Makin’ Music For Money 4:01
2. Door Number Three 3:07
3. Dallas 3:26
4. Presents To Send You 2:43
5. Stories We Could Tell 3:21
6. Life Is Just A Tire Swing 3:05
7. A Pirate Looks At Forty 3:55
8. Migration 4:15
9. Trying To Reason With Hurricane Season 4:23
10. Nautical Wheelers 3:37
11. Tin Cup Chalice 3:41

Jimmy’s Note

A1A is the beach access road that runs occasionally on and off U.S. 1. It can take you to some of the prettiest beaches in Florida east of St. Augustine, right through the middle of “Wrinkle City”, better known as Miami Beach, and ending suddenly 90 miles north of Havana and four blocks from my house.

Peter Whorf came to Key West to talk about my ideas for the cover. After several hard skull sessions at Louie’s Backyard, we chose our name and started up A1A to Miami. So the cover was the trip and the trip was a cover, and there is also a record inside. I hope you like them both.

– Jimmy Buffett, Key West, Florida. August 1974

Contributing Artists

  • Jimmy Buffett – Vocals and Guitar
  • Roger Bartlett – Acoustic Lead and Road Band
  • Steve Goodman – Acoustic Lead Guitar
  • Reggie Young – Electric Lead Guitar
  • Doyle Grisham – Pedal Steel Guitar
  • Greg “Fingers” Taylor – Harmonica
  • Tommy Cogbill – Bass
  • Mike Utley – Piano, Organ
  • Ferrel Morris – Percussion
  • Sammy Creason – Drums
  • Buzz Carson, Bergen White, and Don Gant – Background Vocals

Album Notes

  • Recorded at Woodland Sound Studios Nashville, Tennessee in August of 1974
  • A1A was Jimmy’s second album of 1974, the only time that he’s released two new studio albums in the same year
  • At least one other title for the album was considered: “Migration”