Back Cover

      Released: January 1976
      Label: ABC Dunhill Records
      Chart Peak: #21 Billboard Country Chart
      Chart Peak: #65 Billboard Pop Chart
        • The album’s original name was “Kick It In Second Wind”, and contained the songs “Please Take Your Drunken 15 Year Old Girlfriend Home”, “Train to Dixieland”, and “Wonder Why We Ever Go Home” as well as a different version of “Kick It In Second Wind”. The album was renamed for unknown reasons and the songs “Woman Goin’ Crazy on Caroline Street”, “Havana Daydreamin’”, and “Cliches” replaced the others
        • Jimmy’s wife Jane Slagsvol co-wrote “Something So Feminine About A Mandolin” and “Kick It In Second Wind” with Jimmy. She is also credited with the album’s interior photography

            1. Woman Goin’ Crazy on Caroline Street
            2. My Head Hurts, My Feet Stink and I Don’t Love Jesus
            3. The Captain and The Kid
            4. Big Rig
            5. Defying Gravity
            6. Havana Daydreamin’
            7. Cliches
            8. Something So Feminine About A Mandolin
            9. Kick It In Second Wind
            10. This Hotel Room

            Jimmy’s Note:

            Dedicated to the memory of my grandfather, Captain James Delaney Buffett, the better half of the captain and the kid whose picture appears in this album.

            Here I am at album four. There are still blue skies on the cover and a few more “character” lines around the eyes. Crustacean fascinations are now Havana Daydreams, and the white suit and the parakeet are still waiting for the future date when we really sail away to Martinique.

            There are now real Coral Reefers that have replaced the fictitious characters I used to employ. (Farewell Marvin Gardens and Company.) The band had its embryonic origin in a claustrophobic dressing room in Raleigh, North Carolina. Surrounded on three sides by appreciative but fanatic fans who wouldn’t let us out. I turned to Roger (the mono-Reefer then), and calmly screamed “I can’t do this shit much longer. If I don’t get a band, I’ll go crazy”.

            The band has come and is a welcome addition to “Coral Reefer Madness.” In all, I am happy with what I am doing, where I am living, and who I am loving. Tonight I’m Havana Daydreamin’, tomorrow who knows?

            – Jimmy Buffett, Key West, Florida. November 1975

              Contributing Artists

              • Jimmy Buffett – Guitar and Vocals
              • Roger Bartlett – Guitar
              • Greg “Fingers” Taylor – Harmonica, Piano
              • Harry Dailey – Bass
              • Phillip Fajardo – Drums
              • Jerry McGee – Guitar
              • Joe Osborne – Bass
              • Mike Utley – Piano
              • Doyle Grisham – Pedal Steel
              • Sammy Creason – Drums
              • Johnny Gimble – Fiddle
              • Ferrel Morris – Percussion
              • Steve Goodman – Guitar
              • Don Gant, Buzz Carson, Bergen White, Ginger Holiday, Anita Bell – Background Vocals
              • The Oak Ridge Boys – Background Vocals on “My Head Hurts…”
              • Horns on “Big Rig” – The Muscle Shoals Horns