Get the latest Jimmy Buffett news delivered to your email

Get the ‘Escape to Margaritaville’ Cast Recording Today

February 16th, 2018

The cast recording of the Broadway musical ‘Escape to Margaritaville’ is out today and you can get it on CD or digital download through Amazon.

Follow the links to go to Amazon:

The album is also available at iTunes.

From the show creators:

Being Jimmy Buffett fans for all our lives, we were thrilled to be asked to create a musical using his catalog of music. Having never written a musical before, we started the process of writing the story by re-listening to the songs we knew by heart, but from a totally new perspective. We listened for the stories, the characters and the emotions that could be extracted from each song. We wanted every song that was going to be sung to have a specific meaning and emotional resonance for the character who would perform it. It was our hope that the Parrotheads would enjoy these songs in a way they haven t enjoyed them in the past, and have deeper, or in some cases, completely different meanings than they had previously associated with them. And for those audience members who were not as familiar with Jimmy s music, we hoped to craft a story where the songs fit seamlessly into the narrative as if they were written after the fact. We were very happy with where we ended up with the script, but when we heard what the Music Supervisor Chris Jahnke did with the songs, we were blown away. He brought a whole new energy and dimension to the music that not only stayed true to the original songs we’ve enjoyed our whole lives, but he also made us feel like we were hearing the songs for the first time. We can only compare it to seeing an old friend in a new light and falling in love all over again. Because of that, every time we listen to this album we will be reminded how lucky we were to work with Chris Jahnke, one of the kindest, most generous and talented people we ve ever met.

– Greg Garcia and Mike O Malley

Track Listing:

  1. License to Chill
  2. Fins
  3. It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere
  4. Ragtop Day
  5. It’s My Job
  6. Why Don’t We Get Drunk
  7. Three Chords
  8. We Are The People Our Parents Warned Us About
  9. Son of a Son of a Sailor
  10. My Head Hurts, My Feet Stink, and I Don’t Love Jesus
  11. Coconut Telegraph medley: Coconut Telegraph/Last Mango in Paris/ Havana Daydreamin/ Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes
  12. Margaritaville
  13. Volcano
  14. Grapefruit Juicy Fruit
  15. He Went to Paris
  16. Cheeseburger in Paradise
  17. Tin Cup Chalice
  18. Love and Luck medley: Love and Luck / Breathe In, Breathe Out, Move On
  19. Come Monday
  20. A Pirate Looks at Forty
  21. One Particular Harbour
  22. I Will Play for Gumbo

  23. Tagged in Albums