Sign up for our newsletter to get Tour Dates and News in your inbox!

Listen to Buffett and Chesney’s “Trying to Reason”

August 2nd, 2018

On Kenny Chesney’s latest album Songs for the Saints, he and Jimmy Buffett recorded a version of “Trying to Reason with Hurricane Season.”

“Jimmy, more than the lost shaker of salt, understands the poetry of the islands beyond what tourists see, the life in a way that made a song written decades ago so current,” Chesney says of the song.

Get the song now at Amazon or iTunes.

Listen to the song below:

Tagged in Albums

Buffett to Appear on Upcoming Kenny Chesney Album

June 17th, 2018

Kenny Chesney has recruited a couple of his island friends for his upcoming album Songs for the Saints that will be released on July 27th. All proceeds from the album will go to Kenny’s foundation Love for Love City for hurricane relief in the Virgin Islands.

Kenny and Jimmy recorded a collaboration of “Trying to Reason with Hurricane Season” for the album.

“Each one of them has a tie to my life in the islands, but also reflect some piece of what we’re trying to do,” he shared in a recent press release. “Ziggy Marley, and his family’s legacy, holds so much truth for all of the people I know down there. Mindy Smith’s ‘Come To Jesus’ was an album I lived with from morning to night when I was first going down there – and her voice sounds like an angel. And Jimmy, more than the lost shaker of salt, understands the poetry of the islands beyond what tourists see, the life in a way that made a song written decades ago so current. I’m honored they also want to help.”

Here’s the full track list:

  1. Songs for the Saints
  2. Every Heart
  3. Get Along
  4. Pirate Song
  5. Love for Love City (with Ziggy Marley)
  6. Ends Of The Earth
  7. Gulf Moon
  8. Island Rain
  9. Trying To Reason With Hurricane Season (with Jimmy Buffett)
  10. We’re All Here
  11. Better Boat (featuring Mindy Smith)

Pre-order the album now at Amazon or iTunes.

Tagged in Albums, Related Artists

Get the ‘Escape to Margaritaville’ Cast Recording Today

February 16th, 2018

The cast recording of the Broadway musical ‘Escape to Margaritaville’ is out today and you can get it on CD or digital download through Amazon.

Follow the links to go to Amazon:

The album is also available at iTunes.

From the show creators:

Being Jimmy Buffett fans for all our lives, we were thrilled to be asked to create a musical using his catalog of music. Having never written a musical before, we started the process of writing the story by re-listening to the songs we knew by heart, but from a totally new perspective. We listened for the stories, the characters and the emotions that could be extracted from each song. We wanted every song that was going to be sung to have a specific meaning and emotional resonance for the character who would perform it. It was our hope that the Parrotheads would enjoy these songs in a way they haven t enjoyed them in the past, and have deeper, or in some cases, completely different meanings than they had previously associated with them. And for those audience members who were not as familiar with Jimmy s music, we hoped to craft a story where the songs fit seamlessly into the narrative as if they were written after the fact. We were very happy with where we ended up with the script, but when we heard what the Music Supervisor Chris Jahnke did with the songs, we were blown away. He brought a whole new energy and dimension to the music that not only stayed true to the original songs we’ve enjoyed our whole lives, but he also made us feel like we were hearing the songs for the first time. We can only compare it to seeing an old friend in a new light and falling in love all over again. Because of that, every time we listen to this album we will be reminded how lucky we were to work with Chris Jahnke, one of the kindest, most generous and talented people we ve ever met.

– Greg Garcia and Mike O Malley

Track Listing:

  1. License to Chill
  2. Fins
  3. It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere
  4. Ragtop Day
  5. It’s My Job
  6. Why Don’t We Get Drunk
  7. Three Chords
  8. We Are The People Our Parents Warned Us About
  9. Son of a Son of a Sailor
  10. My Head Hurts, My Feet Stink, and I Don’t Love Jesus
  11. Coconut Telegraph medley: Coconut Telegraph/Last Mango in Paris/ Havana Daydreamin/ Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes
  12. Margaritaville
  13. Volcano
  14. Grapefruit Juicy Fruit
  15. He Went to Paris
  16. Cheeseburger in Paradise
  17. Tin Cup Chalice
  18. Love and Luck medley: Love and Luck / Breathe In, Breathe Out, Move On
  19. Come Monday
  20. A Pirate Looks at Forty
  21. One Particular Harbour
  22. I Will Play for Gumbo

  23. Tagged in Albums

Buffett Releasing ‘Buried Treasure’ Album of Lost and Found Songs

October 5th, 2017

It was over six years ago that Jimmy Buffett teased a release called “Buried Treasure,” a collection of songs from his earliest days that were lost and had been found. You may have given up on this project, but it’s officially coming out in a month!

When legendary Nashville producer Buzz Cason sold his recording studio to John and Martina McBride, there was some cleaning up to do. That is when Jimmy learned that they had found a sizable collection of 1⁄4-inch tapes that were the demos of songs Jimmy had written and recorded for Buzz when he was writing for his publishing company. It turned out that there were over 125 songs in that pile of tape boxes. Also discovered were the original first recordings Travis Turk had engineered in Mobile, and that is where the whole story of Buried Treasure starts.

Track Listing:

Don’t Bring Me Candy
Circle Is Small
Abandoned On Tuesday
I Can’t Be Your Hero Today
Rickety Lane
Wino Has Something to Say
California Dreamin’
The Gypsy
Hopelessly Gone
Simple Pleasures
Close the World At Five

‘Buried Treasure’ will be released on November 17th, 2017. It’s available for pre-order now at Mailboat Records and at Amazon.

A deluxe package is also available that includes a 40-page Collector’s Book with Never-Before-Seen Photos, Bonus DVD 20-Minute Documentary with New Interviews.

Tagged in Albums

Buffett Performs on The Today Show

December 13th, 2016

Jimmy Buffett was on the Today Show on Monday mornig to play some of his holiday music from the new album Tis The SeaSon.

Below are videos of his performances and a short interview where Buffett talks about wanting to go into space:

Tagged in Albums, Television